Welcome to Storm Bay
Bounded by Bruny Island to the West and the Tasman Peninsula to the East, Storm Bay was named by Abel Tasman in 1642 when a storm forced his ships out to sea before they could anchor there. Epitomising Tasmania’s wild, dramatic landscape, the bay has the tallest sea cliffs in the southern hemisphere (300m) and is host to seals, sunfish, dolphins and numerous whale species including a pod of Orca that visit every year.
A little to the north, the Coal River runs into the bay, marking the entry to a valley which has become firmly established among Australia’s most prestigious cool climate wine regions. At the heart of the valley is the picturesque sandstone village of Richmond, home to Australia’s oldest bridge (1823) and surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, cherry orchards, whisky distillers, cheeseries, chocolatiers, oyster farms and grazing for some of the best beef and lamb in the state.
Follow the river just 3 km north from the village centre and you come to Storm Bay Vineyards, planted on ancient tertiary clays and limestone producing richly textured whites and Coal River’s distinctive earth and spice scented pinot noir.